2022 IIPLA Conference

6.75 CLE Credits (including 1 Ethics Credit)

Registration is closed.


Date and Time: Thursday, November 3, 2022 to Friday November 4, 2022

Location: The Westfield Campus, 1080 Jordan Creek Parkway West Des Moines, IA 50266

Accommodations: A group rate is available at the West Des Moines Marriott by visiting this LINK or contacting 515-267-1500. The group rate is available until October 19 under IIPLA Conference.


November 3, 2022

5:00-7:00 Welcome Reception at the West Des Moines Marriott, Salon AB (drinks and hor d’oeuvres provided)

November 4, 2022

8:00–8:30 Check-in and Continental Breakfast

8:30–9:30 Sean Solberg, Shareholder at Fredrikson & Byron, P.A., Tina Yin Sowatzke, Senior Associate at Fredrikson & Byron, P.A.; and Simon Bradbury, Partner and European Patent Attorney at Appleyard Lees: Unified Patent Court/Unitary Patent in Europe

9:30–10:45 Damien Porcari, Director of the Elijah J. McCoy Midwest Regional USPTO: Updates from the USPTO

10:45–11:00 Break

11:00–12:00 Peter Yu, Regents Professor of Law and Communication, and Director, Center for Law and Intellectual Property at Texas A&M University: Deploying Blockchain Technology in the Copyright Office

12:00–1:00 Lunch/Annual Meeting

1:00–2:00 Nehal Madhani, Founder & CEO of Alt Legal: Ethics of Technology Implementation

2:00–3:30 In-House Panel: Q&A** with Tim Alberts, Principal Regulatory Counsel at Kemin Industries; Caitlin Klingenberg, Intellectual Property Counsel at Vermeer Manufacturing Company; Cory McAnelly, Assistant Vice President of Enterprise Innovation Strategy at Principal; Margaret Standish-Bruce, Associate Corporate Counsel at Sukup Manufacturing Co.; and Moderator, Allison Kerndt, Shareholder at Nyemaster Goode PC

3:30–3:40 Break

3:40–4:40 Jason Rantanen, David L. Hammer and Willard L. “Sandy” Boyd Professor at the University of Iowa College of Law, Director of the Iowa Innovation, Business & Law Center, and Director of the Master of Studies in Law Program: Recent Developments in Patent Law

Speakers and/or topics are subject to change.

Posted on September 22, 2022